Walk it off… Walk it off…

My wife and I just returned from a vacation/exploration of Toronto to relax and visit the Toronto School of Theology.  We spent a humongous time walking through the city.  Sadly, in my case, it did not counteract the accumulation of food that we ate along the way, at least according to the bathroom scale.  In any event, a few times along the way, I felt sort of down for one reason or another.  Stress of travel, old wounds getting poked…  I distinctly remember, however, one instance where I felt rather down, but as we went out, I checked my heart again, having walked around numerous blocks, and found that I wasn’t feeling so bad.

I’m not usually one to search for fixes (when I’m paying attention at least).  I prefer to sit down and work through whatever it is that’s bothering me.  I’m a big fan of facing things head on.  However, I short-change myself just a little bit when I do this, I think.  Sometimes, facing something head on turns into a way of fixing it rather than facing it, if that makes any sense.  (If I can just face it, it will go away!)  But here, maybe “fixing” something isn’t entirely a bad thing.

vitruvianThe body and soul are connected.  In my mind, the body is one aspect of the soul.  When I went walking, it began putting the body in a right functioning state.  It became alive.  When the body is alive as it should be, the soul can’t help but be affected by it.  They’re tied together.  So as I walked and got moving, my spirits lifted.  Did I deal with the issue?  No.  But who says I was supposed to or even able to deal with the issue right then?  God has larger ideas about timing than I do.  Maybe all I really needed was a way to work within it rather than working past it.  Perhaps I just needed a way to endure (1 Cor. 10:13, perhaps) until it was the right time to actually work through it.

One way or another, it’s a good reminder of that interconnectedness.  The body affects the soul, and the soul affects the body.  Maybe a good 20 minute walk would be a simple blessing, a sort of surprising spiritual discipline.

Leave a Reply

