The Trials of Being Embodied

I am currently and have been for the past few days experiencing some of the more the disappointing aspects of having a body.  For some reason, during a trip halfway across the country from which I have just returned, I started feeling queasy and having stomach pains.  Congratulations; the Fall has reared its ugly head once again.  I don’t want to think.  I don’t want to pray.  I don’t want to read anything.  I don’t want to do anything spiritual, unless you count fasting, which I don’t really think counts considering I don’t want to eat much anyway.

I’m sort of taking this as a freedom to not be so “spiritual” for a while.  Which I think is okay.  If I’m too spiritual, I”ll probably just end up doing it out of an unspiritual drive and destroy myself (Ecc. 7:16).  But it does just demonstrate once again that I am an embodied soul.  What happens to me physically affects what happens to me spiritually.  I’m not able to function optimally on a spiritual plane when my body is not functioning the way it’s supposed to, and I think to try to crawl my way up Mt. Carmel when crawling from the couch leaves my stomach churning is bad form.  And who knows?  God can most certainly redeem the fact that I feel like I swallowed a lead brick with the urge to compete on the next So You Think You Can Dance.  Maybe part of my spiritual development is coming through the fact that I’m not up to speed right now.  Can I be okay with the fact that I’m not okay?  No, not really.  But perhaps that’s an area where God is opening me up to my need for Him or is teaching me how to find contentment in Him.  I don’t know.  I don’t want to spiritualize it too much, but neither do I want to write it off as wasted time that no good can come of.  We’re embodied souls; this is part of our lot.

I”m going to stop typing now and curl up into the fetal position.

Leave a Reply

